Trial Run

Let me tell you where I’ve been the last week or so…

I’ve been on a trip to a plantation house in the Old South.   I was a worker in the kitchen, a guest in the big house,  and a field working family member.  

All this without leaving my home.

During the day, I do my mom duties such as cooking, homeschooling, and laundry.   In the evening, I find a quiet place to read.

I’ve been completely consumed by this book…

The Kitchen House

Here’s the synopsis from Amazon:

When a white servant girl violates the order of plantation society, she unleashes a tragedy that exposes the worst and best in the people she has come to call her family.

Orphaned while onboard ship from Ireland, seven-year-old Lavinia arrives on the steps of a tobacco plantation where she is to live and work with the slaves of the kitchen house. Under the care of Belle, the master’s illegitimate daughter, Lavinia becomes deeply bonded to her adopted family, though she is set apart from them by her white skin.

Eventually, Lavinia is accepted into the world of the big house, where the master is absent and the mistress battles opium addiction. Lavinia finds herself perilously straddling two very different worlds. When she is forced to make a choice, loyalties are brought into question, dangerous truths are laid bare, and lives are put at risk.

The Kitchen House is a tragic story of page-turning suspense, exploring the meaning of family, where love and loyalty prevail.

After I get a few things done (like grocery shopping) I plan to start another book about the South.  

The book I’m looking to read next is:

cane river

I don’t know why I’m drawn to books about early America, particularly  the Old South. 

I’m not going to pretend I know what life like was like in the Old South because I don’t, but sometimes I feel like I can relate to the characters in the book.   I grew up eating food from a garden that I helped to plant.   We had hog butchering day when I was a kid.   And I’ve covered miles on horseback down a dirt road.     These books help me remember things about growing up that I’ve forgotten.  Books can certainly transport you to another time and place. 

I also have a little confession…since I started keeping a page (titled BOOKWORM)  on my blog of all the books I’m reading in 2013, I feel extremely competitive toward my sister’s book list.   I MUST read more books than her in 2013.   She is currently ahead by 3.   Sad smile If you have suggestions for books that contain 25 pages or less, please let me know.   I need short books so I can pull ahead.  This is war!!!

Enough of my love for books about the Old South…here’s the real reason for this post…

I’m working on a slide show for my in-laws 50th wedding anniversary party.   All the photos are scanned.   The music is purchased.    I’m ready to get started.  

I’ve been trying to figure out how to post one of my other slide shows on Youtube as a “trial run” for the video I’m working on for my in-laws.   I want their video to have a link in case they want to sent it to people who can’t attend their anniversary party. 

I’m happy to report that I figured out how to do it.   So, I’m attaching a slide show I did a couple years ago.   This was one of the first videos I ever put together.   The pictures aren’t in chronological order and some of them are scanned crooked.   It’s NOT a very good slide show.   But, by-golly it’s uploaded to YouTube. 

I’ve since improved my scanning and editing skills.   The slide show I’m doing for my in-laws will be the best I know how to do.   You can look forward to that in a couple days.  Smile 

Beware, the attached slide show is long.   I went crazy a little crazy with photos.   Smile

 

I will be  posting about my in-laws soon.   Fifty years together is an amazing accomplishment.   I’m thinking their fiftieth will be covered in two parts.  Hopefully part one will post tomorrow.  

I’m done for now.   Survivor starts in an hour.   I gotsta go….be back soon. 

This entry was posted in Family, My Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trial Run

  1. Sis….I’m going to level with you…….get ready…………
    There is no way you will beat my reading goals this year.
    🙂 I’m just saying. I can read a 400 page book in 2 days. 🙂

    • rmprudolph says:

      Bailei just called.   She said she would bring me a stack of kids books.   Im going to read 50 of them tonight.   Just kidding….that would be cheating.   🙂

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note™, an AT&T LTE smartphone

  2. Paula says:

    That was a neat post I loved your movie AWESOME

  3. I love the picture of you and Cristin at 12:48! Was clay in a dress in this slideshow? Lol

    • rmprudolph says:

      Danielle,  Clay put on my nightgown so he wouldn’t mess up his clothes.  My mom took that picture i think.     

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note™, an AT&T LTE smartphone

Leave a Reply

