Lasagna

DSCN5476

 

I think that every woman who has been cooking as long as I have, has their best dish.   Meaning, the one dish that taste better than all others.  I’m not tooting my own horn here,   I just mean that in all of my trial and error cooking, this dish had more successful trials than others.   My oldest son even told me that he would rather eat my lasagna than the Olive Garden”s.     That really is food for the cooking mother’s soul, let me tell you.    A little cooking compliment goes a long way with me.   Smile  

This recipe makes a enough lasagna for my family of 5 to have as much as they want, with a little left over.  

 

DSCN5470

I brown 2 pounds of ground beef in a skillet.   When it’s done, I add one can of diced tomatoes and two cans of tomato sauce (these are 15 ounce cans).    I add about 1/2 cup of Tone’s Spicy Spaghetti seasoning that I buy at Sam’s Club.   You can find it with the other spices.     Also, a heaping spoon full of diced garlic.    Put the lid on the skillet and let it simmer for 15 to 20 minutes.

Next, I put 3 cups of cottage cheese in a mixing bowl.    Add 3 eggs to the cottage cheese.   Wisk the eggs and cottage cheese together with 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning. 

Now all you have to do is layer the meat mixture, oven-ready lasagna noodles, the cottage cheese mixture, and mozzarella.   (Make sure the oven-ready lasagna noodles are surrounded by sauce or they wont get soft and yummy).

After you have filled the casserole pan with layers…top with more mozzarella and some parmesan.

DSCN5473

 

Preheat oven to 350.   I usually cover the lasagna with aluminum foil for 30 minutes.   Then I uncover for the next 30 minutes so the cheese can brown on top.

DSCN5474

I usually serve it with salad and garlic bread. 

DSCN5477

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lasagna

  1. penny says:

    Our lasagna recipes are quite similar. I think the only major difference is our choice in tomatoes.
    But I to not care for that spice you guys like at all.

Leave a Reply

